

## PRESS RELEASE

## **Establishment of the Sentencing Advisory Panel**

- 1. Following the announcement by Minister for Home Affairs and Minister for Law K Shanmugam SC in his Ministerial Statement on the Review of Sentencing Framework for Sexual and Hurt Offences on 5 March 2021 in Parliament, a Sentencing Advisory Panel ("Panel") has been established.
- 2. The key function of the Panel is to formulate and publish guidelines on matters relating to sentencing, to promote greater consistency, transparency and public awareness in sentencing.
- 3. Such guidelines could, for example, propose sentencing approaches for particular offences, including sentencing bands based on harm and culpability, as well as aggravating and mitigating factors. This will provide greater clarity about possible sentencing outcomes and the relevant sentencing factors. In the course of preparing the guidelines, the Panel may consult the relevant stakeholders, where appropriate.
- 4. The Panel's guidelines may be cited by the Prosecution or the Defence in their arguments before the Courts. The guidelines will not be legally binding on the Courts, which may decide whether to adopt the guidelines in a given case, and if so, how the guidelines should be applied.
- 5. The Panel brings together members with a wide range of experience and expertise. It is chaired by Justice Steven Chong, Justice of the Court of Appeal, and comprises eleven other members from the Judiciary, the Ministry of Law, the Ministry of Home Affairs, the Singapore Police Force, the Attorney-General's Chambers, and the Bar. The list of the Panel members is in the <u>Annex</u>.
- 6. At the Panel's inaugural meeting, members agreed to study a few areas where guidelines could potentially be useful, including guidelines on general sentencing principles.
- 7. The Panel's website can be accessed at www.sentencingpanel.gov.sg.

## MINISTRY OF LAW [XX] MAY 2022

## ANNEX

S/N	Members	Organisation
1.	Justice of the Court of Appeal, Justice Steven Chong (Chairperson)	Supreme Court
2.	Second Minister for Law Mr Edwin Tong, SC	Ministry of Law
3.	Justice See Kee Oon	Supreme Court
4.	Justice Hoo Sheau Peng	Supreme Court
5.	Justice Vincent Hoong	Supreme Court
6.	Deputy Attorney-General Tai Wei Shyong	Attorney-General's Chambers
7.	Permanent Secretary (Home Affairs) Pang Kin Keong	Ministry of Home Affairs
8.	Permanent Secretary (Law) Loh Khum Yean	Ministry of Law
9.	Registrar (State Courts) Christopher Tan Pheng Wee	State Courts
10.	District Judge Kow Keng Siong	State Courts
11.	Deputy Commissioner (Investigation & Intelligence) Florence Chua	Singapore Police Force
12.	Mr Sunil Sudheesan	Law Society of Singapore